Army Cadet League of Canada (Alberta)

You are here: Home

2016 Kozar Cup

E-mail Print

Kozar Cup
Drill Competition
May 7th, 2016

On May 7th, 2016, the Lecture Training Facility on the Canadian Forces Base in Edmonton, Alberta was the scene of a very tough and much-loved competition for Army Cadet Corps throughout the province. The prestigious 2016 Kozar Cup Drill Competition.


2733/1809 Edmonton

The Awards

The Kozar Cup is named after Col. Frank Kozar, who was an icon of the Cadet Movement of Canada. Col Kozar started off his Cadet career as a CI in Thorsby, and was commissioned into the CIC in 1957. Throughout his time with Cadets he had many roles from being CO of a Corps, Reviewing Officer or photographer. Some of Col. Kozar’s many honours include Member of the Order of Military Merit, CD, Knight of the Order of St. John, Meritorious Service Medal of the Royal Life Saving Society, as well as many others.

The Bootle Award, Top Drill Commander Award, is named after another great in the Alberta Army Cadet movement, MWO Freddie Bootle. During his tenure as the ACA for Alberta Army Cadets, then WO Bootle, demonstrated a passion for the goals of the movement and particularly the 3Ds: dress, drill and discipline.

What makes a Winning Team

It takes many hours of practice and dedication by both the Drill Instructor and the Cadets to have a winning team. Support from your Corp, Officers and parents of Cadets are also instrumental in having a top notch Team. On top of all of that, you have to participate in your Zone Drill Competition. Then once the Zone Competitions are completed, then the top 2 Teams from the three Provincial Zones are invited to perform at the Kozar Cup the first weekend in May.

Competition Overview

The competition consists of three parts:

  • Part 1 – ACR Competition format 1A and 1B.
  • Part 2 – Silent Drill Movements.
  • Part 3 – Free Program.

Reviewing Party

This year we were honored to have the following people for the Reviewing Party:

  • Mrs. Delores Kozar – Wife of the late Col Frank Kozar
  • LCol William Ross CD – Northern Alberta Liaison Officer
  • Ms Melanie Gilmour – President ACLC AB


  • CWO/Adjutant-Chef Kevin Lewis MMM CD – 3 CDSG, Operations Sergeant Major
  • MWO/Adjum Michael Thompson MMM CD – 3 CDSG, Engineer Operations Coordinator
  • MWO/Adjum Jean St-Laurent CD – 3 CDSG, Personnel Services Branch Sergeant Major and Supply Clerk

Competition Staff

We would not be able to hold a wonderful competition like this without the guidance and organizational skills of our Competition Staff. This year’s Competition staff are:

  • Major (Retired) JAD Perry, CD
  • Major (Retired) Ken Usher, CD
  • Captain Stephanie Russell, CD

2051 Edmonton

Competing Teams

  • 1292 RCACC Calgary
  • 1955/2137 RCACC Calgary
  • 2051 RCACC Edmonton
  • 2733/1809 RCACC Edmonton
  • 3016 RCACC Airdrie


This year, as in every year, the top Army Cadet Drill Teams were invited to compete at the Kozar Cup, held in Edmonton. The precision with which the Cadets executed their Drill movements was outstanding. The spectators were in awe of the dress and discipline of each team competing. It was a very tough competition to judge but a decision was finally made.

  • Third place went to 1292 RCACC Calgary with Drill Team Commander C/Sgt. Solomons.
  • Second place went to 3016 RCACC Airdrie with Drill Team Commander C/WO Logan Kieswetter.
  • The Kozar Cup went to the combined Team 2733/1809 RCACC Edmonton with Drill Team Commander MCpl Walter Kootenay.
  • The Bootle Award, Top Drill Commander, went to C/WO Logan Kieswetter, Drill Commander of 3016 RCACC Airdrie.
  • The combined Team of 1955/2137 RCACC Calgary and 2051 RCACC Edmonton were all awarded Participation Medals.

The Army Cadet League of Canada – Alberta Branch, would like to express their heartfelt thanks to the Judges, Reviewing Party Members, Brigadier General Wayne Eyre, MSC, CD, Commander 3rd Canadian Division Support Group/Base Edmonton and Competition Staff. We would especially like to thank the Cadets who participated, their Drill Instructors, their COs and their parents/guardians. Thank you for your dedication and perserverance.